Australia's heritage

Heritage is all the things that make up Australia's identity - our spirit and ingenuity, our historic buildings, and our unique, living landscapes. Our heritage is a legacy from our past, a living, integral part of life today, and the stories and places we pass on to future generations.

Carmen Lawrence

30 July 2013

DIY Heritage - communityheritage.net.au - launched

Launch of the new communityheritage.net.au website that will allow people to add their stories to the collection of national heritage.

Carmen Lawrence

30 July 2013

Chair of Heritage Council re-appointed

Today the Federal Heritage Minister announced the reappointment of Professor Carmen Lawrence as Chair of the Australian Heritage Council for a further three year term.

Australia House, London

28 July 2013

"Coo-ee" London calling, celebrating Australia House, London

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Water today included Australia House in London on the Australian Government's Commonwealth Heritage List.

Tasmania's native forest

24 June 2013

Tasmania's precious forests protected forever

Some of the Tasmania's most spectacular and precious areas of old growth native forest have been given the highest level of environmental protection following a decision by the World Heritage Committee.

Your Community Heritage

21 May 2013

Funding for 2012-13 Your Community Heritage projects announced

This second round of funding provides more than $9.49 million to support 235 heritage projects around Australia.

Parramatta report

10 April 2013

Development in Parramatta City and the Impact on Old Government House and Domain's World and National Heritage Listed Values: Technical Report

The department recently commissioned a technical report to provide greater certainty for future development in Parramatta CBD.

8 February 2013

Western Tasmania Aboriginal Cultural Landscape National Heritage listing

The Federal Environment Minister today announced that the indigenous values of the Tarkine in Tasmania's North West will be included on the National Heritage List.

Find a heritage place:

New South Wales Victoria Queensland South Australia Western Australia Tasmania Northern Territory Australian Capital Territory