Science and Research

pacific double saddle butteryfly fish Pulu Keeling national park

Access to biological resources in States and Territories

Australia has a federal system of government with a national Australian Government and State and Territory governments.  Under this system, each government manages access to biological resources in its jurisdiction under its own laws.

In 2002 all governments endorsed the Nationally consistent approach for access to and the utilisation of Australia's native genetic and biochemical resources to promote consistency in the regulation and management of access to genetic resources.

The senior policy officers that provide information about regulatory and access arrangements to genetic resources in each Australian jurisdiction are designated as National Competent Authorities under the Convention on Biological Diversity. Contact details for National Competent Authorities.


Select a state or territory from the map or links below for information on arrangements in the States and Territories.

Australia Tasmania External Territories External Territories External Territories External Territories New South Wales Victoria Australian Capital Territory Queensland Western Australia South Australia Northern Territory