Ozone science research and resources

The Ozone Science Group


Some members of the Ozone Science Group meeting in Canberra on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the Montreal Protocol on 13 September 2012.

Members of the Ozone Science Group at the 25th Anniversary event in Canberra

(ltr): Dr Frank Mills, Dr Greg Bodeker, Dr Paul Fraser, Mr Paul Krummel, Dr Andrew Klekociuk, Ms Annie Gabriel, Ms Julie Arblaster, Dr Stephen Wilson, Dr Matt Tully, Mr Kane Stone and Dr Damian Murphy.

The Ozone Science Group is an informal group of Australian scientists interested in stratospheric ozone science. They meet once a quarter to share information about developments in ozone science and research, to coordinate their activities and to cooperate on specific projects.


The group was established in 2007 as a means to encourage cooperation among Australia’s stratospheric ozone interests. It comprises key Australian ozone scientists from the Australian Antarctic Division, Bureau of Meteorology, CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research, the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency, and a number of research universities including the Universities of Melbourne, Wollongong, NSW, Tasmania, Adelaide, the Australian National University, Macquarie University and LaTrobe University.  Some ozone scientists from New Zealand are also part of the group and participate in meetings by teleconference.


The Ozone Science Group has undertaken a number of cooperative activities, such as combining information to produce a comprehensive review of the 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010 Antarctic Ozone Holes, and a combined submission to the draft National Framework for Climate Change Science in late 2008. The group is an ideal way for Australian scientists to share information on new and ongoing research, to share data and information, to coordinate their research activities where possible, and to advocate for new or redirected research.

The Group also prepared Australia's national report to the tri-ennial Ozone Research Managers meeting in May 2011.


Further information

The department facilitates the operation of the group and provides secretariat support. For further information on the Ozone Science Group, please call the department on +61 (0)2 6274 2023.